azurelunatic: The LJ pencil,  (pencil)
Azure Jane Lunatic (Azz) 🌺 ([personal profile] azurelunatic) wrote2006-11-21 01:48 am
Entry tags:

Terminology: "unformatted text": text stripped of encoding, or source code?

This suggestion's discussion reveals that some people out there consider "unformatted text" to mean the plainest of plain text, stripped of all encoding/markup, versus source code.

It gives me the screaming twitches to think that there might be enough demand for fully rendered HTML and text stripped of all markup to hand those out, but not enough demand for regular old "what they typed is what you get" text in one's comment notifications.

I'm an anomaly, and I like the junky free web-based e-mail (because I can get to it anywhere, and my friends know it; I switched over from hotmail when [livejournal.com profile] boojum alerted me to a security hole that hadn't at that time been patched yet) and raw e-mail without too many bells and whistles.
moniqueleigh: Me after my latest haircut. Pic by <lj site="livejournal.com" user="seabat"> (c) 03/2008 (Default)

[personal profile] moniqueleigh 2006-11-21 09:25 am (UTC)(link)
I'm an anomaly, and I like the junky free web-based e-mail ... and raw e-mail without too many bells and whistles.

You and me both. :)

[identity profile] pyrogenic.livejournal.com 2006-11-21 07:11 pm (UTC)(link)
uh. If there's only one "unformatted" option (say like in Word) it better be stripped of markup ... that's why it's called _markup_. If you copy some RTF-formatted text, do you expect to see the RTF markup when you paste it as "unformatted text"?

Just sayin'. That's what "view raw source" is for.