Azure Jane Lunatic (Azz) 🌺 (
azurelunatic) wrote2008-07-30 06:02 pm
LJ meta, planned
So, if there were to be a "care and feeding of the LJ user" document written for actual LJ higher-ups, what sort of things should go in it?
For starters: you're going to want as low a bullshit content as is practical (for no company, especially no company involved in IT amirite is going to be operating without a certain level of bullshit). LJ users, the ones that make themselves known, feel like they should be treated more like stockholders, entirely possibly because they are the creators of the content that fuels the whole shebang, see
synecdochic's excellent treatise on advertising in social media and how it can go sour fast. Except unlike stockholders, LJ users collectively have the spare time to shred any and every public statement to pieces, spot logical inconsistencies, and generally fling cat macros (and other forms of unhappiness) if displeased. (Because, seriously, we write for fun. If we feel something endangers our fun...)
LJ users operate on LJ time, not on business time. Overnight is enough time for five tabloids to get involved, including Slashdot, The Register, and the Valley Wag.
Since LJ users act like stockholders, don't present something as a fiat unless you're prepared to stand hard on it. Instead, stand pretty firmly in a spot you think you probably won't have to or want to back down from, but have some room for negotiating.
This one is going to take at least a week of hacking on and brainstorming, maybe more of polishing.
For starters: you're going to want as low a bullshit content as is practical (for no company, especially no company involved in IT amirite is going to be operating without a certain level of bullshit). LJ users, the ones that make themselves known, feel like they should be treated more like stockholders, entirely possibly because they are the creators of the content that fuels the whole shebang, see
LJ users operate on LJ time, not on business time. Overnight is enough time for five tabloids to get involved, including Slashdot, The Register, and the Valley Wag.
Since LJ users act like stockholders, don't present something as a fiat unless you're prepared to stand hard on it. Instead, stand pretty firmly in a spot you think you probably won't have to or want to back down from, but have some room for negotiating.
This one is going to take at least a week of hacking on and brainstorming, maybe more of polishing.

no subject
no subject
no subject
And why a mundane in his fifties just should not even try to defend said actions against fangirls who not only have infinite free time, but can even find out your home phone number, even if it's not listed?
And then there's why getting the whole thing written up for F_W (more than once) is Not A Good Thing...
My biggest beef was the total lack of any sort of social training. A degree in Management may make a person well qualified to run a company, but not to disperse an angry mob with lit torches and pitchforks. The person who is the spokesperson needs to have some serious background in sociology and crowd management. And the folk behind said person need to not let themselves become the puppets of microscopically small splinter extremist religious wackos. Yes, there was a problem, but kneejerk reactions won't solve anything, they just muddy the waters.
To do that sort of ugly job, it would have been better to properly learn social engineering, and then used that. That always works so much better than brute force, and with fewer casualties among the bystanders. Or among one's own ranks.
no subject
The only way I can contemplate that time period without feeling gut-punched is to remember that it's all over now. Or, rather, I still feel gut-punched, and I just don't wind up crying. And I was only on the sidelines.
no subject
no subject
no subject
If the Abuse Prevention Team says something is a profoundly bad idea, bring stuff to a screeching halt right then and there.
If on the other hand there's someone in management who you're trying to get rid of, shove them out and have them make news-posts on unpopular topics, without backup, with comments turned on. They'll be considering quitting by page 3, and will have handed in their resignation by page 10.
no subject
no subject
And it will do hell for PR.
no subject
no subject
btw, if anyone's not looking close at spyware -- did you know 6A is still loading cookies through LJ?
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
LJ started out as Brad. Then Brad made it open-source, so any and every random dev who happened to be using it could chime in, identify a problem, make a case for the problem being fixed, and submit a patch.
That open-source mentality has been preserved and communicated to the wider vocal portion of the userbase. Unfortunately, not all of them have the technical know-how to submit a patch, but are quite free with the identification of problems and the case for the problem being fixed. There's some general outlining of how the problem should be fixed, but there's a reason that the "plans for implementation" field got taken off the suggestions form: when all the "plans for implementation" tended to be "I dunno, that's for the developers to work out."
Most userbase cat-macroing could probably be responded to with "And what are your plans for fixing it?" alternated with "And what *about* it sucks?" until the responses either become coherent or circular.
no subject
no subject
Someone who uses LJ heavily is probably going to subconsciously think of the timeframe that they would use if they put up a post and got the reaction that some of the cracktastically drama-filled news-posts have gotten. How long does it take to write up an addendum to the post to address the top complaint about it? Often, not more than fifteen minutes or an hour or so. How long does it take to put up a second post with more information and a more well-thought-out position? No more than 24 hours, often, no more than 8-10.
8-10 hours from first serious complaint is a long timeframe, in which one can be assumed to be incommunicado due to a) work, or b) sleep. 16-20 hours is a timeframe that gives ample room for both. 24 hours, and you're back to the original time of complaint, and well past the original time of posting, and you've had time to wake up, go to work, get home from work, have a sandwich, check your email, see the explosion, and realize that you had better do something about it.
Given that LJ *is* work for LJ staff, LJ's timeframe gets shortened, because there's no excuse about being at work and getting fired for looking at such stuff at work. Also, since volunteers are active around the clock, and assorted of LJ's staff work idiosyncratic shifts, the timeframe is not necessarily going to be expected to adhere to a California business clock. If it's noon California time the day after a major incident, the userbase is expecting at least a "please stand by while we pull our pants back up" post.
Response to a technical emergency is expected to be even faster. If the site is down for five minutes, someone will notice. If the site is down for ten, people will want to know why. If the site is down for half an hour, emergency backup journals will be activated.
no subject
This is a good discussion about timeframes. One thing though, is that while some of LJ's staff may work idiosyncratic shifts, I'm not sure that the management (the people who would be writing followup posts) are the same people who have unorthodox hours. I could be wrong on this because IANALJS and all, but I still think a California business clock is most applicable for a timeframe for expecting posts. A thing that users in general don't seem to get is that while yes, it would be good to address concerns right away, sometimes it takes lots of meetings to figure out what face to put on things, and that can take time.
On a different note, there's also the "LJ-soon" of feature implementation (which I'm sure you're familiar with from the
no subject
Public perception is that when it's a feature that the userbase wants, it'll be implemented sometime from years to never, but when it's a new and sparkliesparklie feature that the MySpace demographic abuses, it's RIGHT THERE ZOMG, no matter how much time and forethought was actually put into its implementation. They'll have been looking at it from the back end, so they'll have a real sense of its scale, but from the user perspective, it just happens, poof.
Not sure if there's a cure for that one, but one of them might be Comments From
Granted, there is shit that will get priority and shit that will not, but there's a huge perception that sparkly happens overnight and practical does not.
Emergency backup journals
And I quite agree about the timing issue. I know that people work on normal work schedules, but I am still reminded of how the X.25 mail protocol was derisively described as being "Same-day service in a microsecond world." Ouch.
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
If you're on LJ already for more than just business reasons, you know what I'm talking about. If you're not, go add a comic feed or two, go check out a community that caters to your interests, go read a few journal entries that are heavily linked, help contribute to dragging down the cluster upon which
no subject
If you're going to resent the userbase or any part of the userbase, don't do it in public, and don't address that part of the userbase. Don't blow off steam under your own name; don't blow off steam under a sockpuppet in public. You may not get caught, but if you do, the consequences can be really ugly and have long-lasting consequences for LJ.
People are still mad at LJ, deeply and personally, for the actions of people who have since not let the door hit them on the ass on their way out, over a year ago. Some people have forgotten, some people have let it slide, some people are still cautious and alert and watching, and some people are still so hurt and angry that they're still lashing out over it. For you sports enthusiasts, imagine if your favorite team made it to the absolute final game of whatever major tournament, and then some absolutely blind game official made some absolutely cracked-out bad call, so bad you think they were smoking mummified squirrels in the locker room before the game. As a direct result of this, your favorite team has lost the game, and the tournament. It's a year later. Maybe it doesn't haunt you every day. But when you see that god-damned official, have you forgotten what they did there?
no subject
Use your journal in addition to hanging out on LJ. Pick a userpic. Have fun and show some of your safe-for-work but not entirely professionally related userpics. People relate better when they know, for example, that someone avidly watches Stargate in addition to wearing great big stompy boots, or someone is a member of the ACLU in addition to whacking code, or likes bunnies in addition to loving servers maybe a little too much.
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
That's all.
We want to be for the users, by the users, and we also want those in charge to have competent business and technical sense. We're used to the competent technical sense, and we're not used to dealing with someone who does cold hard financial calculating without telling us why they're doing things that are Not Fun.
no subject
no subject
no subject