azurelunatic: Vivid pink Alaskan wild rose. (wild rose)
Azure Jane Lunatic (Azz) 🌺 ([personal profile] azurelunatic) wrote2010-04-14 07:14 pm
Entry tags:

Britney's Legs

Apparently I have strong feeling about legs. That's what I discovered after finding that Britney Spears, who is [livejournal.com profile] norabombay's perfect-template-for-all-your-imaginative-projection-needs pop diva of choice, consented to release pre-Photoshop photos along with their post-touchup incarnations.

I'm not entirely sure how it was that I found my way to the Daily Mail article on the pictures, but that's where I wound up. And sometimes it's not just "don't read the comments", but "don't read the article's commentary". Tucked in a short list of things that were digitally removed, I found:

Imperfections that can be clearly seen in the un-airbrushed shot include [...] her larger thighs ...

It wasn't quite seeing red, perhaps more of a lurid pink*. Whatever the other problems Britney has, embodies, and/or inflicts on the world, please acknowledge a few things about her.

She is an entertainer.
She dances.
She rehearses the routines for each performance, whether it's to be a stage performance, a music video performance, or g-d knows what kind of performance.
She performs the routines for her music videos, which of course include multiple takes to get stuff right.
She performs live shows on stage.
She is a healthy young woman, able-bodied and clearly capable of withstanding hours of physically demanding rehearsal and/or performance on a daily basis.

Britney Spears is, if she is nothing else, an athlete who trains regularly for her job. She has muscular calves and thighs, like any other athlete who spends that much time engaged in a leg-intensive sport would have. She does not have the same legs that a woman of average build who takes part in ordinary activity but is not an athlete, has. She does not have the same legs that a very slender woman has. She does not even have the same legs that a plump woman who is not an athlete has.

Dear Daily Mail, classifying the proud muscular calves and thighs of a dancer as an "imperfection" does not even remotely help the issue that your article was trying to address, the impossible standards that women's attractiveness is held to. Even as you decry it, you're buying into it. Those legs are not actually fat. A good half of the leg-related photoshoppery, possibly more, looks to have gone into removing muscle mass, smoothing over muscle definition, making a flexible and strong woman look like a mass-produced, unathletic little dolly.

Stop doing this. Stop buying into the concept that every woman's ideal of beauty is the same. All of the types of women -- athletic, average, slender, plump, and more -- can have beautiful legs, and their legs will look different. Stop believing that beauty and femininity excludes obvious physical strength. It's all well and good that you're waving these pictures and decrying the concept that women are being held up to an impossible standard**, and that the standard is unhealthy, unrealistic, and damaging. But you're still implicitly reinforcing that this impossible standard is beauty, that women who fall outside of it also fall short; that they are authentic but less than beautiful. Don't fall into that trap.

Strength with grace is inherently beautiful. Don't even begin to attempt to tell me that you think it's not.


*I'm getting a lot of mileage out of that phrase today. Also, I dearly want more clothing in that color.

**[18:58] <cadenzamuse> although I still have this difficult-to-articulate niggling difficulty with Dove's campaign
[18:59] <cadenzamuse> something about them talking about "real beauty" when they're still trying to sell a product
[18:59] <mathsnerd> muse: me too!
[18:59] <cadenzamuse> I dunno
[18:59] <Azz_> The message is valuable, but they're riding their advertising campaign on top of it.
[19:00] <cadenzamuse> yeah
[19:00] <cadenzamuse> I think that's it
[19:00] <Azz_> They're exploiting the much-needed message in order to sell their product, and the fact that the message is desperately needed is carrying it everywhere, with the "this is an ad for us" rider.
[19:01] <cadenzamuse> yeah
[19:02] <cadenzamuse> they make it out to be some altruistic thing, when ultimately I still think they're only providing the needed message as a way to sell their product
[19:03] <jeshyr> ... their /beauty/ product, worse.
marcelle42: (Default)

[personal profile] marcelle42 2010-04-15 02:29 am (UTC)(link)
Notes on the Dove thing:

1) Original "Campaign for Real Beauty" was to sell cellulite cream. All the other stuff (non-profits, etc.) came after.

2) Dove is owned by Unilever. Unilever also owns Fair and Lovely, a skin bleaching line sold largely in Africa (and I think also in Asia? But I forget). Skin bleaching, along with being racist and having to do with unrealistic beauty standards, can also be incredible dangerous. Campaign for Real Beauty my ASS. (Trying not to soapbox here, but let me know if you want citations, etc.)
marcelle42: (Default)

[personal profile] marcelle42 2010-04-15 02:31 am (UTC)(link)
Also, sidenote: to be fair, Unilever owns a LOT of things, including Hellman's, Vaseline, Lipton, and Ben and Jerry's. I have a hard time buying that because Fair and Lovely is evil, so is Ben and Jerry's, so extrapolate about Dove as you wish.
maewyn: a grumpy-looking cartoon goat in a bathrobe, holding a cup of hot coffee (atheist goat)

[personal profile] maewyn 2010-04-15 02:59 am (UTC)(link)
Unilever also owns Axe. I heard that tidbit before I heard about Fair and Lovely, so it's what tipped my personal scales against Dove.
marcelle42: (Default)

[personal profile] marcelle42 2010-04-15 03:21 am (UTC)(link)
Oh, hey, I didn't realize that! Axe came out after I had learned about this, and already concluded Unilever sucked, so I think I didn't notice. Nice to know (where nice = gross).
marcelle42: (Default)

[personal profile] marcelle42 2010-04-15 03:20 am (UTC)(link)
Therefore, citations:

A long newspaper piece covering both the racism of the concept of whitening creams, as well as listing some of the health risks
A Business-y paper about Fair and Lovely describes some of their offensive ads
A WSJ article on whitening creams, to counteract the "Hey, look, I can Google!" nature of some of these citations
A specific critique of Unilever's lightening creams v. Dove's Campaign for Real Beauty
The Dangers of Skin Bleaching (yes, it's from the Tyra show. Sorry.)

Once again, to be fair, Fair and Lovely does not use many of the chemicals listed as causing the terrible side effects. But that's the industry that Unilever is a part of, and is benefiting from.

Also, as a disclaimer: I recognize that I get to say this from a place of incredible racial privilege. I'm a super-pale, WASP-y girl living on the East Coast of the U.S. I don't want any of this to be read as disdain for or criticism of people who choose to use these products within their own racial, cultural, and economic contexts (or people who feel they have no choice but to use these products).
verity: buffy embraces the mid 90s shades (Default)

[personal profile] verity 2010-04-15 05:40 pm (UTC)(link)
I'm copying my comment over from LJ, with an addendum:

I've met Maureen Shirreff, the creative director who was/is responsible for that ad campaign. She was pretty clear about the fact that they can use a good message to sell their product is awesome, but at the end of the day, it IS about selling the product. I was overall quite impressed with her, especially with how she responded to my question about lack of WWD in the campaign. (Basically, "that's a good question, we did run a campaign of women with scars and the stories behind their scars with a skin cream in Europe, but it didn't test well in the US." Which didn't exactly answer MY question, but at least it was on her and Dove's radar.)

Further context: I was in a course on Critical Perspectives on PR/AD (which turned out to be full of PR/AD grad students and thus much less "critical" than I was expecting in discussion if not direction), and the professor knew Shirreff and invited her to come and speak. Do I think that Unilever is a great company? Nah, I don't. Shirreff did talk about how Axe was also a Unilever brand with a completely different and somewhat contradictory marketing strategy. But I have less ire at the Campaign for Real Beauty, because, I mean, it's advertising. They're ALWAYS trying to sell you shit. But no one at the business level is pretending otherwise. Shirreff was 100% honest about the fact that although she was really happy to be promoting a more positive body image through the campaign, at the end of the day, it's because it makes money. It's not for the common good.


Anyway, I really liked Shirreff on a personal level, regardless of my feelings about the campaign or Unilever, which probably comes through in this comment, so feel free to take this with a grain of salt/ask further questions. I just thought I'd put this out there for discussion, since there seems to be a lot of speculation about Dove's motivations and operations, and I do know a bit about that from the horse's mouth, so to speak. (For example, how separate the brands are - in terms of marketing, entirely and completely separate accounts.)
Edited 2010-04-15 17:41 (UTC)
norabombay: (Britney Kick Ass)

[personal profile] norabombay 2010-04-15 04:17 am (UTC)(link)
You know, if you aren't careful, you might also develop a liking of Brit Brit. It's been known to sneak up on people.

But you can't take several inches off Britney Fucking Spears, and then stretch the legs you leave her with to make her look taller.

She's an international popstar and professional dancer. And as you said, no matter what, it can't be denied that she uses her legs.

The legs she has are these flat out spectacular legs. Exactly what the legs of professional dancers look like.

I'm pissed.

because if somebody who is basically one of the 50 most beautiful and known women in the world gets this treatment? People kill themselves trying to look like she actually looks.

What the hell do they think of the rest of us?

(I am going to give them a pass on airbrushing out the camel toe....)
norabombay: (Default)

[personal profile] norabombay 2010-04-17 11:23 pm (UTC)(link)
exactly.

I"m a ok with a certain level of photoshoppery of publication photos. Stray hair, camel toes, red eye, maybe a pimple- there are things that I would like removed from my own photos.

They do not in any way change the fundamental size and shape of the subject.

That's where I get pissed. Why try to erase half of her?
sophie: A cartoon-like representation of a girl standing on a hill, with brown hair, blue eyes, a flowery top, and blue skirt. ☀ (Default)

[personal profile] sophie 2010-04-15 07:45 am (UTC)(link)
I think they forgot the quotes around "imperfections". The thing is, they were reporting on what had *changed* between the pictures, and I don't think they actually buy into the fact that it's an imperfection. It would have been better if they'd made it clear, though.

But then, I'm not the Daily Mail, so I don't know for sure, and this is coming from someone who spent most of her life with male privilege, so if what I said sounds like it could have come from there, I apologise.
aella_irene: (Default)

[personal profile] aella_irene 2010-04-15 10:21 am (UTC)(link)
The Daily Mail is, in the UK, known to be racist, sexist, homophobic, and rampantly pro-Conservative and anti-everything not quintissentially British, and the very words "Politically Correct". They're what you find under rocks, and deeply resent being dragged into the cold light of the 21st century. They have had columnists who write on how women who wear short skirts and get raped make it harder for everyone else's rape trials. They invariably frame every divorce where the woman gets something as moneygrabbing. And one columnist, Jan Moir, wrote a disgusting article about Stephen Gately's death, for which she was reported to the PCC by several hundred people.
matgb: Artwork of 19th century upper class anarchist, text: MatGB (Default)

[personal profile] matgb 2010-04-16 12:16 am (UTC)(link)
I don't think they actually buy into the fact that it's an imperfection

I grew up in a Mail reading house; I persuaded my paretns to switch when I was a late teen, and now they won't touch it either.

I do buy that theory. This is the paper that, famously, supported Hitler right up until the invasion of Poland, and wrote article after article talking about how the country was being swamped by immigrants then was surprised when they found out a lot of readers vote BNP.

The tone of that article is entirely consistent with their normal editorial line. Best selling newspaper in Britain :-(
stultiloquentia: Campbells condensed primordial soup (Default)

[personal profile] stultiloquentia 2010-04-15 10:54 pm (UTC)(link)
A world of yes. I honestly think she looks more beautiful in the untouched photos!
kigan: one of the most beautiful men on the planet being flamboyant and beautiful (Default)

[personal profile] kigan 2010-04-17 10:34 pm (UTC)(link)
Exactly!! In the unshopped photos, she looks like a normal person who is in very good shape. Why did they take away half of her thigh? That was muscle there. When I run on a regular basis (which hasn't been lately, alas >.>), that's exactly what my legs start to look like. Some people have slender legs naturally, that stay that way regardless of exercise (a lot of gymnasts, swimmers, and the like here); many people do not. If you have bigger muscles to begin with, that stick out more as you exercise, there is nothing wrong with that.

We aren't freaking Barbie dolls and Britney definitely isn't either; why the hell do they have to keep feeding us this bullshit that we're supposed to be?

(Angry comment is angry. :D Now that's done, hi! I came this way because of the fic drive. Nice to meet you.)

[identity profile] darling-tess.livejournal.com 2010-04-15 07:11 am (UTC)(link)
This painstaking attempt at some sort of unrealistic perfection is hard on everyone involved. I would say that I can't believe hiding an athletic form is going on, but the heat she took over being "fat" on that award show apparently really took a toll on her. She of course wasn't the slightest bit fat, but apparently the lack of a concave stomach means fat now. :- (

By the way, nice to find an intelligent person on LJ, I hope you don't mind I added you. I found you vie zarhooie.

[identity profile] darling-tess.livejournal.com 2010-04-15 01:52 pm (UTC)(link)
I completely agree on that standard of beauty! Women should have curves.

There was an episode of some reality show Jessica Simpson is hosting on the other day. They went to Africa and visited a tribe where women spent 2 months in a "fattening up" hut in order to get as big as possible for their wedding day. Apparently their standard of beauty was for the women to be a rotund as possible, while the men were extremely thin.

[identity profile] ladyofthelog.livejournal.com 2010-04-15 10:38 am (UTC)(link)
Sometime when I'm not mega-ass tired, we should chat about Dove. Because I've met Maureen Shirreff, the creative director who was/is responsible for that ad campaign. She was pretty clear about the fact that they can use a good message to sell their product is awesome, but at the end of the day, it IS about selling the product. I was overall quite impressed with her, especially with how she responded to my question about lack of WWD in the campaign. (Basically, "that's a good question, we did run a campaign of women with scars and the stories behind their scars with a skin cream in Europe, but it didn't test well in the US." Which didn't exactly answer MY question, but at least it was on her and Dove's radar.)

[identity profile] arkeiryn.livejournal.com 2010-04-15 11:42 am (UTC)(link)
... I'm more irritated that they photoshopped her bum :P though her photoshopped legs don't look like legs! They look like 2D cut-outs of legs!

[identity profile] iroshi.livejournal.com 2010-04-15 06:17 pm (UTC)(link)
I remember seeing a singer on stage a few weeks back and pointing out to Chris, "Now there's a DANCER." He asked why I thought so, since she wasn't at that point doing any dancing at all, just standing there singing, and I pointed at her very short skirt and said, "Look at those LEGS!" They were extremely muscular and -thick-. There was not a teeny tiny bit of fat on this woman, but she had thick legs. There was no doubt in my mind that this woman was a -dancer- (she's apparently a currently BIG singer/dancer, but I don't remember the name and hadn't seen her perform before) and she did show a big of her ability later in the performance, but not much.

But those were some YUMMY legs, and I would be ready to scratch eyes out of any idiots who called those legs a *flaw*.